California already is known for having one of the toughest sets of gun laws in the nation. On the first day to introduce bills for the 2019-20 legislative session, Assembly Bill 18 was proposed to place a new excise tax on gun sales and use the money to fund violence intervention and prevention activities. Yes, if making it difficult to purchase a gun wasn’t hard enough, guns might just become more expensive than ever before — possibly out of reach, even, to some consumers.
Governor Jerry Brown is leaving office in 6 days time, but he’ll be leaving behind a few gun laws that’ll see implementation starting today.
Here are a few:
- Senate Bill 1200 eliminates fees for requesting a Firearms Violence Restraining Order (GVRO) and adds ammunition and bullet drums to the list of items related to firearms that can be confiscated.
- Assembly Bill 3129 prohibits anyone convicted of a misdemeanor domestic violence offense after January 1, 2019 from possessing a firearm for the rest of their lives.
- Assembly Bill 2103 requires gun owners with a concealed carry license to undergo a minimum of eight hours of training, and demonstrate proficiency and safety on the shooting range. Before, C-C-W applicants could get their permit without ever shooting a gun.
- Senate Bill 1100 prohibits anyone younger than 21 from purchasing a long gun, such as a rifle or shotgun, from a licensed firearms dealer. However, the law includes an exemption for law enforcement officers, members of the military and anyone who possesses a valid, unexpired hunting license.
Assembly Bill 1968 mandates a lifetime ban on the ownership of firearms for individuals if they were involuntarily admitted to a mental health facility more than once within a one-year period because they were deemed a danger to themselves or others. The individual could appeal the ban every five years. This bill will not be implemented until the end of 2019.
In addition, California and at least five other states (Washington, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois and Vermont) and the District of Columbia passed laws in 2018 that raised the minimum age from 18 years old to age 21 for the purchase of long guns, and many of those laws take effect Jan. 1, 2019. Many of those laws were acted on after the Feb. 14 shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida, that killed 17 people.
At least a dozen other states already restrict ownership or possession of long guns to individuals under age 21. Federal law currently prohibits the sale of handguns from a licensed retailer to people under age 21.
Meanwhile, in Oregon, the state’s so-called intimate partner loophole or boyfriend loophole bill — House Bill 4145 — goes into effect today and bans the ownership or purchase of guns by domestic abuse offenders or people under restraining orders. At least 29 other states have similar laws that put curbs on the ownership or purchase of guns for convicted domestic abusers or stalkers.
The Oregon law was signed by Democratic Gov. Kate Brown less than a month after the Feb. 14 shooting in Florida. The bill was proposed at the request of the governor.
Illinois is also joining roughly a dozen other states with the adoption of a red flag law. It allows family members or police to ask a judge to temporarily remove firearms from a person they think could be dangerous.
It’s happening, folks. Better get buyin’ before you can’t.